Avian Metapneumovirus Classification

One serotype of Avian Metapneumovirus has been described but nucleotide sequence analysis and neutralisation tests using specific monoclonal antibodies have identified four subtypes (A, B, C and D).

Different aMPV subtypes have been demonstrated by assays such as:

  • Cross virus neutralization
  • Neutralisation tests using monoclonal antibodies
  • Immunochemical assays
  • Reverse transcriptase/polymerase chain reaction – restriction fragment length polymorphism (RT/PCR- RFLP)  or nucleotide sequencing.